normal complex membrane simulation - THICKNESS PROBLEM

• audagnotto
  • audagnotto's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
More
8 years 11 months ago #4542 by audagnotto
Dear all,

I am new in CG simulations and I am trying to simulate a complex membrane composed by several lipids characterized by high number of insaturation (like in the Plasma Membrane example present in your web site).
I ran 4 equilibrations, decreasing restraints on phosphates at each stages (1000, 500, 250 and 2) but when I checked the thickness (distance between phosphates) of the membrane I observed that is around 36 A. From my atomistic simulations the mebrane thickness is around 38 A.
This is a problem when I inserted my TM-protein in the membrane in order to study its stability.

For what concerns the parameters I followed the Plasma Membrane example in the web site (md-production.mdp) and I tried to change both the lincs and the tau_p but without any results.

I will really appreciate any help
Many Thanks
Martina

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 11 months ago #4544 by mnmelo
Hi Martina,

You're talking about a 0.2 nm difference in a total 3.8 nm, or 0.1 nm per leaflet. At a first glance I'd say this is well within the coarseness scale of Martini. Your protein must be exquisitely structured to feel such a difference.

You don't mention what the problem was when your protein was inserted. Do you get system instabilities? Does the protein pop out of the membrane? Maybe your system will perform satisfactorily despite that small thickness difference.

Let us know,
Manel

• audagnotto
  • Fresh Boarder
More
8 years 11 months ago #4552 by audagnotto
Replied by audagnotto on topic complex membrane simulation - THICKNESS PROBLEM
Hello,

thanks for your reply.
My system is composed by two alpha-helices embedded in this complex membrane.