normal Periodic dimerization and backward.py mapping

• Robin
  • Robin's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
7 years 3 months ago #6919 by Robin
Hello everyone,
I am currently studying dimerization interface of 2 proteins in martini representation, and trying to backmap the system (dimer+membrane) in order to study it in all atom later.

My first problem concern directly one of my dimers which dimerized at the extremity of the box. I am pretty sure the dimerization happened since I can see the dimer by using periodic images. But evidently, when I try to locate interacting residue (this script is pretty usefull for that purpose: www.ks.uiuc.edu/Research/vmd/mailing_lis...5681/newcontacts.tcl ), the script doesn't see the interacting image.
I tried several combination of gmx trjconv to make one of the protomer the center:
gmx trjconv -f half101prot10ns.trr -s dimer.gro -o recentered10ns.trr -b 0 -n mudelta.ndx -center -pbc whole -boxcenter
But no success, my protomers stay at the opposite periodic "wall".

My second problem concern backward.py handling of the POPC lipid:
want: H91
have:
Bailing out...
I know this problem has already been adressed :

flaviyan wrote: Hi Chris,

You are using the Martini lipid rule 2.0 for the POPC [12 beads] (which is the case in the latest insane script) but you are using the Mapping scheme according to the old lipid rules [13 beads]. so the backward is throwing an error. Either update the Mapping to match the new bead description or use the following insane command:

./insane.py -o cg.gro -p cg.top -l POPC.o:1 -x 10 -y 10 -z 10

So I changed the POPC mapping using this page: cgmartini.nl/index.php/force-field-param...ml?dir=PC&lipid=POPC .
The error is still the same despite using the 2.0 martini rule. Do you have any other idea of what could cause this problem?

Thank you for reading :).
Robin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 3 months ago #6925 by peterkroon